It has been more than three years since I first reported to you about the Facebook dislike button scam. The scam involves a link on your wall informing you that Facebook now has a dislike button and you can take advantage of this new feature by clicking on a link. This is a scam. There is no dislike button on Facebook. If you click on the link, a number of things may happen, all of which are bad. You may be prompted to provide personal information that will be used to make you a victim of identity theft or you may unwittingly be signing up for expensive monthly services on your smartphone or you may automatically download malware that gives the identity thieves access to the personal information in your computer or smartphone which identity thieves then use to make you a victim of identity theft. Additionally, clicking on the link may give the scammer access to your profile and the ability to send out malware and spam to all of your friends and make it appear that the material is coming from you.
This scam is experiencing a resurgence because last week, Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg spoke about Facebook considering a feature similar to a dislike button. However, such a feature is a long way from becoming a reality.
There is no dislike button so if you see a link to one, you can be sure that it is a scam. If you unwittingly have downloaded this, you should delete it from your Facebook account as soon as possible and report it to Facebook.